Announcing my book: Ladders to Heaven

ladders-launch975442
I have spent the past ten years writing a book about an extraordinary group of plants that have affected humanity in profound yet little-known ways. I am therefore delighted to announce today that Unbound will publish Ladders to Heaven: How fig trees shaped our history, fed our imaginations and can enrich our future.

These trees have influenced religion, culture and history in curious ways the world over. They also play pivotal roles in rainforests, sustaining more species of birds and mammals than any other trees. And all because 80 million years ago they cut a curious deal with some tiny wasps. The best could be yet to come. These trees could also help us restore damaged forests and protect rare wildlife.

My book will tell tales of kings and queens and gods and prophets, of scientific wonders and religious miracles. It will take you to rainforests, volcanoes and ancient temples. It’s a story that can tell us much about our origins… and a lot about where humanity could go from here. The story stretches back tens of millions of years but is as relevant to our future as to our past. It even involves robots.

You can read an extract and watch my introductory video on the Unbound website. If you like what you see, please consider pledging, because now I need your support.

Unbound uses an innovative crowdfunding approach, without which special books would not be able to reach their deserving readers. What this means is that Unbound agrees to publish and market my book if enough people pledge their support in advance.

Everyone who pledges will not only get the copy of the book they order, but will also be named in the book as a patron, and acknowledged on the Unbound website. Supporters also get access to a private section of the Unbound website, where I will discuss the book and the story behind it, and share extracts and sketches (I’m illustrating the book too).

If you want to help make this book happen, please pledge here. You’ll be supporting something special and different in publishing.

Please also share this with anyone you think will be interested. The sooner I reach my target, the sooner Unbound will publish the book.

Photo credit: Cathedral Fig in Queensland, Australia (James Niland / FlickrCreative Commons)

8 thoughts on “Announcing my book: Ladders to Heaven

  1. Any chance it’ll be out in the next few weeks? I’ve got an exam question on fig/wasp co-evolution that it could be really useful for😉 Congratulations and good luck – looking forward to reading it.

    • Hi Jamie – I wish it could be out so soon! Then again, I need to finish writing it and do the illustrations and I’m sure I will be wishing I had more days when the deadline looms. Thanks for your support.

Leave a Reply

